The Chiesa di San Lorenzo, a stopping point in processions and a burial site, stands in an area of great scenic interest, offering sweeping views to the Adriatic coast. The church dates back to the late 18th century, and was built following a cardinal’s decree that called for a space to accommodate the deceased of the Moresco community. The building served this function for about a century, as from 1869 — the year of the second merger with Monterubbiano — the population of Moresco began to use Monterubbiano’s cemetery. The church features simple, linear forms: the façade, culminating in a triangular tympanum pierced by an oculus, is adorned with corner pilasters and three mixtilinear openings. The interior, currently used for storage, had been stripped of its ancient furnishings, preserving only the remains, the high altar and some glimpses of the fresco that once decorated the apse wall.
